“Get It On” by Brian Kirk

after T-Rex and St. Paul

You showed me all the moves; how to be silent
and live inside the track.


I was a fool, a brash voice in a teeming hall.
I was a wise guy, but my wisdom


was bluster, a gong banging, a cymbal crashing
in a room where no one heard.


You took my hand, put your finger to my lips
so I was forced to listen,


but I only ever heard your plaintive voice; it sounded
different from the rest,


your melodies were sharper, your words spoke truth
about a life no longer mine.


Each song endures, becomes a totem, and meanwhile
I’m still thinking of you…

Brian Kirk has published two poetry collections with Salmon Poetry, After The Fall (2017) and Hare’s Breath (2023) and a short fiction chapbook It’s Not Me It’s You (Southword Editions, 2019). His novel Riverrun was chosen as a winner of the Irish Writers Centre Novel Fair 2022. His website: www.briankirkwriter.com.


Discover more from Taiwan&Masticadores // Editor: C. J. Anderson-Wu // Taiwan

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a comment